Eastern Cape

The Eastern Cape province of South Africa was formed in 1994 when the Xhosa homelands of Transkei and Ciskei together with the eastern parts of the former Cape Province. The two largest cities in the Eastern Cape are Port Elizabeth and East London with Bhisho as its Capital.

This region was the landing place and home of the 1820 settlers and the central and eastern part of the province is the traditional home of the Xhosa people.

The west of the Eastern Cape is mostly semi-arid Karoo and in the far south the Tsitsikamma region is temperate rainforest. This province has beautiful rolling hills and is very mountainous between Graaff-Reinet and Rhodes.

Ben Macdhui is the highest point in the province standing tall at 3001m.

It's not all hills and mountains in this beautiful province, the Eastern Cape has a shoreline in the south on the South Indian Ocean. The shoreline stretches from its border at the Bloukrans River (also the location of the world's highest bungee jump from the Bloukrans Bridge) to the KwaZulu-Natal border.

Search and Book Accommodation in the Eastern Cape